PDA

View Full Version : 08 Tourmaster air bag suspension 120psi?

univmd
06-10-2009, 07:07 PM
I have an 08 Tourmaster:

The sticker on the window says that I need to wait until the airbags are at least 120psi before driving off.

I only have two psi guages on my dash. Both have tire icons on them. Both go from 0-150psi, but only reach a max. of 113psi after starting up the engine (audio alarm goes off after 75psi).

I think one is for the front airbrakes and the other is for the rear airbrakes? Is it safe to drive off when the two guages above are only 113psi?

How do I measure airbag suspension psi to make sure they are at least 120psi? Do YOU measure air bag suspension psi?

With warm regards, James

nuthut
06-10-2009, 08:56 PM
I think the guages indicate the pressure in the front and rear tanks. The air compressor on the engine will only build pressure until it reaches the cut off point of the compressor governor, which in normally between 110 - 120 lbs. You will be fine to drive off as soon as your engine is warmed up and the pressure is full, somewhere around 110 or greater pounds. I am not aware of an air bag guage or any way to measure the pressure of an air bag from the cockpit. Good luck.

GO BLUE
06-11-2009, 02:11 PM
I just wait until I hear the loud hiss sound than I know I'm good to go...by mistake I once pulled out of the storage unit when bags were still deflated...didnt go far but it's a rough ride you will know to stop and flip switch from lower to auto Jim K

David Bott
06-12-2009, 08:35 AM
The two gauges are for the tanks themself. The main tank and the secondary. You will see these go up and down slowly as you use your brakes for example. (pump the breaks a few times you will see them drop down some.)