PDA

View Full Version : Flat tow lifted Jeep behind supernova

tahoebrad
05-20-2010, 01:03 PM
Does anyone have experience flat towing a lifted Jeep behind a supernova? I have a lifted 2008 Wrangler Unlimited with 37" tires and currently tow with a trailer. I want to reduce weight but I am concerned about wear and tear on the jeep with a lift and large tires. Any experience? What equipment are you using? Brake controls etc...

Thanks!

Texas TC
05-20-2010, 04:23 PM
As you probably know, I tow a 2007 Jeep Wrangler X behind my SuperNova using a standard Blue Ox "A" frame tow bar and Blue Ox base plates on the front of the Jeep. I have a Roadmaster auxiliary brake system that I have only used once. I don't find that I need it with the light Jeep and the relative low weight of my 6331.

I do not know of anyone who tows a raised Jeep behind their coach but I do have a friend who rolled his raised Jeep towing it behind his F250 diesel Ford pickup extended cab and long wheel base. His father in law took a corner too fast and the top heavy Jeep paid the price.

Saying that, I think I might be a little concerned about towing a raised Jeep behind the SuperNova. However, you will probably never take a corner with your coach as fast as someone would with a smaller pickup truck.

Good luck, I hope someone else has more experience and can give you first hand knowledge of your proposal.

Walldo
05-20-2010, 07:25 PM
I am towing a lifted 08 Unlimited on 35's, I use a Roadmaster Sterling tow bar with a custom base plate (because I have an aftermarket front bumper) and use a 4" riser on the Nova's hitch. I have never had any problems with the JK behind the Supernova it has followed great. The only thing I have noticed is more miles on the tires... If you are interested in seeing the set up I can e-mail you some pictures of it, can't figure out how to attach a picture. :roll: Walldo

amingf29
05-26-2010, 11:10 PM