View Full Version : Multiple On-Board Cameras

09-01-2006, 12:54 AM
My Tour Master has a two channel monitor with the back-up camera.

What other locations would you install a camera for viewing from the coach?

And how difficult is it to install extra cameras?



09-01-2006, 07:53 AM
Well Dave, since we are a family oriented organization & recreational group, a 2nd camera in the pottie room is definately inappropriate.

I've heard that a good location is looking down the side of your coach, say from the rear view mirror. As we all know, cars love to hover in your blind spot right back near your rear tire, just out of view of the rear camera.

I've thought of adding the optional 2nd camera myself & am undecided if passenger side or drivers side would be more useful.

The back of the in-cab monitor would have a coax connection for video #2. I don't know if power leads need to be run to the camera itself or if it is part of the cable assy. With a bit of frustration factor, you should be able to route your cable through the same sealed hole as the mirror controls, down the windshield post & under the dash assy to the monitor.

Keep us posted how the project works out.

Bob 106 soon to be 107
Ron 149

09-01-2006, 08:06 AM

Our coach also has a two channel monitor and I have thought about installing another camera on the right front corner of the coach since I almost ran over a little black car that was riding right beside of the door of the coach. Thank goodness for the little window in the lower part of the door or I would have pulled right over on top of it. :shock: I almost got it, it really scared the crap out of me.

That is the only blind spot I have, the camera would eliminate that.

On the forum IRV2, there is a post where one of the members installed extra camera(s) and he put a detailed post about it some time ago.

His user is John_Canfield, do a search on "camera" and you will get quite a few posts listed, just search thru them.

Here is the link to his own web pageJust look at his listings for the side camera installation and click on it.