Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2018, 02:36 PM   #1
Pirate
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 14
Default ID 30 amp dead outlet ???

I'm new to the game, with a 1992 ultra 27 mh.
Inside the outside compartment, where the shore power cord is stored, is a 30 amp outlet, which has no power.

Can't imagine, it's a generator hookup, being as it's a female outlet.

Any one know?
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 05:45 PM   #2
Frutza
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 122
Default

I think it would be from the generator, you would plug your shore cord into it
__________________
Mike & Becky
2005 Crescendo 8356
Frutza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 06:48 PM   #3
Pirate
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 14
Default

That makes sense. Any idea, where a gen. would have been housed? I'd like to find the wires. There was no gen. when we bought it.
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 06:18 AM   #4
Restorium
Senior Member
 
Restorium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 182
Default

On ours it's where you plug the power in for both shore power or the generator. You have your choice of one or the other. No switches.

Our generator is in the compartment right next to the one with that receptacle.
__________________
1999 Sunsport with Ford Chassis
Restorium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 01:24 PM   #5
THenne1713
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Memphis
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to THenne1713 Send a message via MSN to THenne1713 Send a message via Yahoo to THenne1713
Default

1) The Male plug goes to RV Main Breaker Panel; 2) if only One Receptacle, it is connected to the Shoreline, 3) If a 2nd receptacle, it goes to the (onboard GEN), and you have to MOVE the plug to select which. 4) If you use a portable GEN (1000w to 10,000 watt), you can plug in 30a service, or 15a/ 20a, etc. w/ adapters, by running appropriate cord from bay to GEN
__________________
THenne1713
99-Conquest E450SD, 6.8, 2v, V-10
THenne1713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 08:00 PM   #6
Pirate
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THenne1713 View Post
1) The Male plug goes to RV Main Breaker Panel; 2) if only One Receptacle, it is connected to the Shoreline, 3) If a 2nd receptacle, it goes to the (onboard GEN), and you have to MOVE the plug to select which. 4) If you use a portable GEN (1000w to 10,000 watt), you can plug in 30a service, or 15a/ 20a, etc. w/ adapters, by running appropriate cord from bay to GEN
The male plug to breaker panel, is the shoreline, yes?
There is only 1, 30 amp receptacle.
Are you saying the receptacle, should be hot, when shoreline is plugged in?
Mine isn't.
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 06:29 PM   #7
THenne1713
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Memphis
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to THenne1713 Send a message via MSN to THenne1713 Send a message via Yahoo to THenne1713
Default

YES, the FEMALE RECEPTACLE goes to the shoreline, and should be hot when 25-30ft shoreline plugged in. IF NOT HOT, shoreline cord/ male plug on OTHER end, or female RECEPTACLE may have burned out or broken a wire?; the short cord MALE Plug goes to the RV MAIN BREAKER PANEL; if it was reversed, you could get electrocuted by the MALE prongs when shoreline plugged in. Please re-read my previous post.
__________________
THenne1713
99-Conquest E450SD, 6.8, 2v, V-10
THenne1713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 09:40 PM   #8
Pirate
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 14
Default

I found 10 gauge cable, from the dead receptacle, coiled up under the sink.
Some remodeling was done.
No small cord with plug.
No receptacle on breaker panel, for that missing short cord.
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 11:49 PM   #9
THenne1713
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Memphis
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to THenne1713 Send a message via MSN to THenne1713 Send a message via Yahoo to THenne1713
Default re: 10g cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate View Post
I found 10 gauge cable, from the dead receptacle, coiled up under the sink.
Some remodeling was done.
No small cord with plug.
No receptacle on breaker panel, for that missing short cord.
1) 10g is right for 30a, if stranded, how long? 2-ft, or 25-ft?, maybe just 30a plug went bad and plug got cut off, or cord got cut off??
2) If ever was an "onboard generator", would have been an area w/ no floor most likely, or compartment converted from open to box storage, so a box was added to the empty space?
3) The existing 30a male plug should go to the Breaker PANEL 30a breaker.
__________________
THenne1713
99-Conquest E450SD, 6.8, 2v, V-10
THenne1713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 12:20 PM   #10
RayChez1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,046
Default

There is a plug and also a electrical chord on the top of my compartment. On my coach that chord if plugged in is for the block heater. In my case the Caterpillar engine has the block heater in case you are in extreme cold weather, I turn on the switch with the red light and the engine stays warm and will fire right up.

Not sure on a gasoline motor home if that is what that is for, but I have seen some gasoline engines with block heaters.
__________________
2002 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser
2018 Buick Envision Essence
Neway Freightliner chassis
Aventa II Blue Ox
RayChez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.