Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 05-07-2016, 05:45 PM   #1
Red7

Default Onan 4000 Generator not supplying power/shuts off under load

I have a 2006 Gulf Stream BT cruiser 5291 that is fairly new to me and I'm very new to RVs in general so i could use your help. A few months ago we drove 8000 miles to Oregon and back and everything ran great including the generator but it sat for a couple months here in Tampa Florida. I was good about running the engine and running the AC every month but let it go about 2 months and when I tried to start the generator it would not fire. I realized one of the two ring terminals (for the two thick red power cables going to the battery) that were on the same positive threaded battery post completely corroded to where nothing was left of the ring, keeping the cable from making contact with the battery. Due to the crimped piece still being on the end of the cable I wasn't able to install a new ring so I used a different fitting that clamped on with two bolts and now have that cable connected to the large round positive post (same post as what a normal car battery would have). The generator now fires up and runs fine but shuts off when I try to turn on the AC. Basically, it will start surging and then die.