Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2017, 05:26 PM   #1
wacko442
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
Default converters / transfer switch

In an 05 Endura, is there a " converter" or just the "transfer switch" ?
wacko442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:35 PM   #2
Chuck v
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 354
Default

The 2004 and 2005 Endura coaches do not appear to have AC supply voltage invertors or generators as stock equipment,but a 'generator prep' is discussed. This implies that there is at least a transfer switch or provision for one.

To avoid any confusion, there is always a "converter" in these RVs that provides 12 volts to interior lighting when connected to shore power -- since this is essentially a battery charger/conditioner there is no need for any transfer switch on the low voltage side of this component.

This link may help you visualize how your coach is equipped:
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...RBVq1EmIrXXVKz

Chuck
__________________
2007 Tour Master T40C
Acura MDX toad

"It takes a great deal of time to recover from any improvement..."
Chuck v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 07:52 PM   #3
wacko442
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Chuck V. but I still don't see were the converter is located. This RV has a transfer switch & a generator.
wacko442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 09:12 PM   #4
Chuck v
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 354
Default

Good to know it has the generator option. The 12 volt DC converter is standard on all these units. It may be adjacent to the DC fuse panel or it may be near the transfer switch...it varies quite a bit. These are not very large components -- about the size of a toaster oven or smaller. Mine is about 12 inches by 10 inches be 5 inches and my coach is a diesel pusher with a much larger capacity converter than the 35 amp unit that should be in your RV.

Here is a link to a combined fuse panel/converter:
https://jet.com/product/detail/6eacf...SABEgLSmvD_BwE


...and here is a separate chassis unit of the same 35 amp rating...
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F8MC418...a-312676080395

Look around and see what you find in your rig...

Chuck
__________________
2007 Tour Master T40C
Acura MDX toad

"It takes a great deal of time to recover from any improvement..."
Chuck v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 09:33 PM   #5
wacko442
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Chuck! The first link you gave me, I think is the one I have. My fuse panel looks like that. I look behind it, but I think you hit it on the head. This is why I joined this group, to get real answers to real questions. Thanks again Chuck!
wacko442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.