Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 10-16-2017, 10:30 PM   #1
Jono1234

Default Newbe 2007 trail lite 23ss

Hello I'm new to the scene I just purchased this RV and have noticed two soft spots in the ceiling , one near the door and the other above the bunk, both areas are along the edge of the ceiling on th door side. We had a good rain and nothing got wet inside but that doesn't mean water isn't running down the walls!
I can't agora to goto an RV shop. I also noticed the power wire was disconnected on propane detector alarm and the big vent underneath the refridgerator next to the power investor has a piece of foam blocking any ventilation and I don't know why it's Even there ? Please help anyone . Thank you
Joe
Jono1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 03:56 PM   #2
McKannick

Yes, welcome to the group and the sad reality of used RV's. Water leaks go unnoticed for years by original owners until they step into a soft spot or discover it by accident. and when traded in, the problems do NOT get fixed by the typical used RV dealer (or an individual, typically). Just sold my leaky old 2008 to my next door neighbor, BUT showed him every spot I knew of, the roof and every nook and cranny that could possibly be bad. He also got a great deal for his 'sweat equity' project...if in perfect shape he could have spent $7500+, got it for $2500. You may find even more stuff disconnected as you explore the unit. The propane alarm probably went bad and wouldn't shut off. Pull that foam block out and see what they were trying to keep out (or in). If the ventilation to the inverter / charger is blocked it's not good for it.
McKannick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 07:55 PM   #3
exjay