Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 10-29-2010, 09:49 AM   #1
sudsguzzler

Default travel locks location?

I'm still fairly new to this RV thing and I have warning messages about securing the slide out travel locks, but I don't even know where these locks are? I have scoured the slideout and don't see anything that would secure the slideout. Perhaps the previous owner removed them or broke them off, but perhaps someone can give me a good idea where to look for them. I have an 06 Tourmaster T36.
sudsguzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 10:11 AM   #2
Arthur Hayes

These locks are large enough to be easily found. They are usually stored in a storage area. I keep mine in the storage area behind the sofa. Or the previous owner removed them from the coach entirely.
Blue OX Tow Bar
Unified Break System
Arthur Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 10:53 AM   #3
sudsguzzler

Default travel locks

I have looked up travel locks online and I see now that they are basically a telescoping rod to hold the slideout closed. This may be a good idea as I just winterized my RV and after sitting for a week or so, the lower part of the slidout seems to have relaxed and came out about an inch or so. I don't know if this is common, but the locks would probably help with this as well to keep insects, rodents, and weather out during storage. One question I have is actually how many travel locks should someone use on a larger slideout? 4? one upper and one lower one each side? I see pics of people using them on the upper portion, but since the power for the slide comes from the bottom, I would think if you were only using two, you should locate them lower on the slide. Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.
Old 10-31-2010, 09:37 AM   #4
CraigS