Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 08-09-2009, 03:16 PM   #1
univmd

Default How much does YOUR engine temperature fluctuate?

Newbie here and am wondering if it is normal for engine temperature on diesel pusher to fluctuate more than a car.

On my DP, the engine temp guage is divided into 4 quarters rather than having actual temperatures stamped on. The needle fluctuates between 1/2 and 3/4 on my DP. (On my car, the needle stays still in the center)

At 3/4, I can hear the radiator fan turn on until the needle goes back down to 1/2. The needle then climbs back up to 3/4 (over about 10 minutes) before the fan cycles on again. This is at 65 mph. Is this normal, how much does YOUR engine temp fluctuate-cycle?

With warm regards, James
Old 08-09-2009, 04:37 PM   #2
kenbob208

Default Re: How much does YOUR engine temperature fluctuate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by univmd
Newbie here and am wondering if it is normal for engine temperature on diesel pusher to fluctuate more than a car.

On my DP, the engine temp guage is divided into 4 quarters rather than having actual temperatures stamped on. The needle fluctuates between 1/2 and 3/4 on my DP. (On my car, the needle stays still in the center)

At 3/4, I can hear the radiator fan turn on until the needle goes back down to 1/2. The needle then climbs back up to 3/4 (over about 10 minutes) before the fan cycles on again. This is at 65 mph. Is this normal, how much does YOUR engine temp fluctuate-cycle?

With warm regards, James
Engine temp on my DP stays at 190, highway or city does not matter.
kenbob208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:56 PM   #3
David Bott

You can here the fan that is all the way in the back of the coach? (The radiator fan is on all the time I do think and is located behind the massive radiator. .