Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 08-07-2022, 07:23 PM   #1
minnew

Question newbie quick questions

My wife and I just purchased a 2017 B Touring Cruiser, model 5291B (class C) with a 450 super duty Ford engine. I'm totally new to RVing, so I've been watching YouTube vids and reading manuals.

However, compared to the automobile world and what I think is common sense, I'm confused about certain items:

1. There is no spare tire on the vehicle! I guess if you get a flat you're totally dependent on whatever roadside assistance you have. I happen to have Erie auto insurance covering my vehicles and they apparently offer roadside assistance and my agent said I'm covered for towing and repairs...is this enough or should I fork out more money for RV specialty roadside coverage? Which one(s) are recommended?

2. I have "levelers" only in the rear of the vehicle. That does not make much sense to me. Are you supposed to use roll on levels for the front wheels and then the screw jack levelers for the rear? What is the logic to this design?

I have other questions, but these are the biggies...
thanks,
Mike and Kelly
minnew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2022, 10:33 PM   #2
Bike Dr

Hello and welcome! If you are new you will have a fair amount to learn but a lot of it is good common sense and some mechanical experience does help.
As for the spare most do not have one. I have a class a but do carry a spare in the basement compartment. Or if you tow you can keep a spare in your tow( trailer) possibly.
You will have many experiences as your leaning curve grows. You will have some rough times but those are the memories along with the great ones you will make in the future!!
As for the leveling system there are many very helpful others one this forum that will also be glad to help!