Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 01-22-2020, 01:09 PM   #1
bbybee

Default new leak(s)

Im new to Rving and have had this Motorhome about 9 months. I was wonder the advantages and disadvantages of taping over my screws along the outer edge of the RV instead of self leveling sealant. I was given several rolls of Dicor Coating-Ready Cover Tape and that look like a more permit as not twice a year way to water proof that area?

Thought and suggestions please.

Thanks ahead a time!!

Buck
Old 01-22-2020, 05:20 PM   #2
Frutza

If one is free, that works, I would. And have used both, most importantly is the prep work, clean no loose old caulk, dry .
Old 01-23-2020, 08:17 AM   #3
bbybee

Thanks for the info and i'll do both then.

again thanks!

Buck
Old 02-02-2020, 12:42 PM   #4
RayChez1

Leaks are very hard to find on a motor home or trailer. It could be in the rear and the leak would come out in the front. Lot of times the leak is on your air conditioners that with all the bouncing on the hi-ways will get lose. I had that problem once and the four bolts needed to be retightened. Also the roof design of the Gulf Stream coaches was a poor design as far as I am concerned. If you do not cover the seams that run from front to rear with Eternabond, those seams eventually will leak because of the flexing of the long structures. The thing is that as we get older it is hard and dangerous for us older folks to be climbing and walking around on the roofs. But the three piece design is a very poor design. That is about the only thing that I have found on my coach that I did not like. Other then that my coach has served us well and has given us seventeen years of great service.
Aventa II Blue Ox
RayChez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2020, 01:15 PM   #5
jamesham

Default roof leak