Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 05-27-2009, 09:12 PM   #1
nuthut

Default Inverter questions

Hello, I am really new in the RV game, so please bear with me. I finally got my Crescendo hooked up to shore power today. I have only a 15 amp outlet available where I am parked now. I found a 50 amp to 30 amp adaptor, then a 30 amp to 15 amp adaptor, and I have my 50 amp M/H plugged into a 15 amp service. The inverter works great - so great in fact, that I had the refrigator, both air conditioners, both TV's, auto satillite, and radio turned on, and I was thinking the inverter batteries would start discharging, but they actually were increasing in voltage as the inverter charged them. I did not have the washer/dryer or electric water heater (which would have sucked a lot of juice, I am sure) turned on.

I guess my question is why do I need a 50 amp service? Is it only because of the washer/dryer and water heater?

Do all of my electrical devices run from the inverter, or does the 50 amp service provide power directly? I have no idea, perhapy some of you guys do. Thanks if you can share information.
Old 05-28-2009, 08:13 PM   #2
mfa

I don't know of any way that you could have had both airconditioners running off of a true 15-amp service line. Are you sure both compressors were running, or just the fans?
mfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 07:37 AM   #3
nuthut

Both A/C compressors were operating. I think the 15 amp service was powering my battery charger only. I guess the inverter batteries were powering the inverter, which was putting out the power for the A/Cs.