Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2022, 12:35 PM   #1
Rvcamphunt
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 6
Default Auto Transfer switch mystery for 2005 gulf stream

Hello everyone Im new here. I am having a hard time locating the transfer switch for a 2005 gulf stream Conquest Ultra Super model 6331BK.
I looked everywhere and no luck Im almost wondering if it was pulled out. I looked under the bed, behind cabinets, behind panel, restroom sink drain, under dinette, behind couch, under coach, u name it I just need someone that has the similar coach to tell me. One place I heard but not sure that it might be under the steps but it looks like its not the case but any help helps. I get a humming sound from the generator when plugged into the shore power so I figured it might be the switch bad.

Please help. Tried calling Gulf stream left messages and nothing.
Rvcamphunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2022, 09:26 AM   #2
RY469
Senior Member
 
RY469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 121
Default

It's the metal box your shore cord is connected to. Typically inside the same compartment you coil your shore cord up into.
__________________
Rich

Retired USN MCPO
RV Service Tech

RAM pulling 2021 GS TT
RY469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2022, 08:23 AM   #3
Rvcamphunt
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 6
Default Thanks for the help

Actually found where the unit should have been. Some morons that worked on it before i purchased it decided to remove it and wire all three connections together. No wonder I was told to turn off the generator switch when connecting to shore power. It used to be under the sink behind the panels for anyone wondering in the future. My main panel is actually under the stove which was the next compartment over from the sink.
Rvcamphunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2022, 08:24 AM   #4
Rvcamphunt
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 6
Default Thx for the help

Thanks for the info
Rvcamphunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2022, 10:25 AM   #5
Chuck v
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 832
Default

Fix that and put a transfer switch back in...it is very dangerous to have both power sources permanently wired like that!!!


Chuck
__________________
2007 Tour Master T40C
Acura MDX toad

"It takes a great deal of time to recover from any improvement..."
Chuck v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2022, 07:06 PM   #6
GStream40
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 925
Default

Rvcamphunt,

Do you have 30 amp or 50 amp service. If you have 50 amp, I have a used transfer switch that was removed from motorhome because the circuit control failure. I sent it in and had the circuit board replaced and it was tested okay.

If you want it, just pay for shipping plus $10.00 and I will ship to you.

I purchased a new one and had this one repaired. They replaced the control circuit board. So I kept this one as a spare but never used it.

I have sold our motorhome and no longer need to keep it.

Info on the Transfer Switch;

Iota ITS-50R Automatic Transfer Switch

Ron
GStream40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 12:06 AM   #7
Bike Dr
Senior Member
 
Bike Dr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Chestertown
Posts: 136
Default

Hey that awsome of you to offer the switch!! But what were they thinking by removing it!! That could be sooo bad! Tell um chuck. I wouldn't sleep knowing that was like that. Goodness you got to have that for safety and piece of mind. Even though I don't connect two power sources at once. I could for convenience but just don't. So I hope he takes you up on that offer!!!
Bike Dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 02:40 PM   #8
Rvcamphunt
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 6
Default

Thank You Gstream40 I actually have a 30 amp and got one pretty cheap for $90 from a Rv outfit here in town. Thanks for the look out.
Rvcamphunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 02:41 PM   #9
Rvcamphunt
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck v View Post
Fix that and put a transfer switch back in...it is very dangerous to have both power sources permanently wired like that!!!


Chuck
Yes these idiots were seeing stars or something. I corrected it by installing a new one to take its place.
Rvcamphunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 01:39 PM   #10
GStream40
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 925
Default

You are welcome. Forgot that I had it in the garage on the shelf until I read you post.

Ron
GStream40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:29 AM   #11
THenne1713
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Memphis
Posts: 497
Send a message via AIM to THenne1713 Send a message via Yahoo to THenne1713
Default

On my 2000, the Label is on top of the power center, so follow the shoreline cable, should go directly to it? May have to slide power center out to access?
__________________
THenne1713
2000 Conquest LE 6266, Class-C on 99-E450SD, 6.8, 2v, V-10
THenne1713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×