Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 03-19-2014, 05:39 PM   #1
walkervalj

Default Engine running doesn't charge coach batteries

I own a 2006 Gulfstream Endura Super C, with 5500 Chev Kodiak chassis. Used to charge coach batteries when engine was running. No longer does. What do I look for first? I suspect a relay, or isolator, but do not have enough knowledge to know where to look. Owner manual says batteries charge when engine running, but gives no other info. Generator charges batteries, but truck engine does not. All 4 coach batteries are fairly new (less than a year). Shore power works fine. Have checked for any tripped breakers, and blown fuses, and have found none. Where is isolator located? What does it look like? . I have basic electrical knowledge and can run a VOM, but coach/chassis systems pretty new to me. There is a relay under hood labeled PTO. Any chance that is it? Any way to test relays ? Any help appreciated
walkervalj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 12:47 PM   #2
donc6288

Default Re: Engine running doesn't charge coach batteries

I have a 2004 Crescendo with the same issue. All fuses are good that I can find. At the IRD or isolator relay delay, the battery terminal is hot, but with the motor running, neither the solenoid or the ignition terminals have power on them.
donc6288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 03:00 PM   #3
eddard

Default Re: Engine running doesn't charge coach batteries