Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 07-07-2014, 06:06 AM   #1
RayChez1

Default Inverter/charger not charging

I noticed yesterday on my panel that the LED lights where it shows the state of the house batteries was red. So I think that the converter on my coach might have burnt up. Now here is where I need help. what does a converter for charging the batteries look like on these coaches and where would I look for it. I have a feeling it is in the compartment where you turn the switches off to winterize the coach. But I am not sure. I am not an electrician so I need some advice.

The batteries show 12.5 volts, but I can tell that they are not getting charged either by the inverter/charger or the Onan diesel generator because I started the generator to see if the LED lights would go up to at least 14.3 volts and they did not. It kept giving a reading of 12.5 which it was just reading the state of the batteries. So I think it might be the converter. I read all the time here in this forum about replacing converters, but I never had looked on my Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser to see where it was located incase mine ever went bad.
RayChez
Aventa II Blue Ox
RayChez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 08:31 AM   #2
Arthur Hayes

Default Re: Inverter/charger not charging

I had to replace mine a few years ago. On this unit it is located under the bed close to the transfer switch. It is about the size of a CB radio, it has a fan that runs 24-7. Easy to remove and replace. Just pay attention to how the wires are connected. I called the manufacture and they offered a rebuilt one, that is what I ordered. You can find them on many web sites as well.
Good Luck
Blue OX Tow Bar
Unified Break System
Arthur Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 07:31 PM   #3
RayChez1

Arthur Hayes,