Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 11-17-2010, 06:57 PM   #1
EarlJunior

Send a message via AIM to EarlJunior Send a message via Yahoo to EarlJunior
Default slide-outs; leave 'em out or in when seasonal?

Am considering upgrading to a TT that has 2 slide-outs, & as this is only my 1st full year as a TT camper (used to be a tent camper), I have absolutely no experience with slide-outs, so I'm asking for knowledge from those more experienced: is it generally considered better to leave 'em out or pull 'em in if the camper is parked at a seasonal spot?
Old 11-18-2010, 10:48 AM   #2
keithinspace

I have no experience in the matter, but after having seen "seasonal" campers and "regular" campers, I can say there is a difference.

If you look at the roofline of the slides on a dedicated seasonal camper, they are made specifically for the task...they have steep slopes and the water sheds off the roof directly onto the ground.

The roofline of normal non-seasonal trailers are different. They are flatter and normally the "flange" that seals them while in transit block the water and force it to run off the front or back of the slide. None of this mentions the bad things that could happen if a bunch of leaves or pine-needles build up on top of the slide. All of this is helped by a slide awning/topper, though. But those are no more intended to be deployed 100% of the time than the big awning on the door side...the vinyl will eventually start cracking and such.

I don't have a problem having my slide out in a rain while I'm inside it or camping for the weekend. But I would think it considerably more rain-proof if the slide is pulled in when the trailer is not in active use.

My thoughts.
keithinspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 07:02 PM   #3
rjf7g