Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 07-23-2006, 07:12 PM   #1
shark3136

Default RV TV Solution Needed.

Anybody have suggestions for sensible affordable TV reception?
I'm new at this and when I stay at a campground without cable...well...it sucks.
What is everyone using?
Anything that doesn't cost a fortune?
Old 07-23-2006, 07:56 PM   #2
hpytravlr

Mark,

When we first started out with our motor home we raised the TV antenna but forgot to push the magic red button. The reception was terrible until someone asked if we had pushed the red button. That cleared it up. Later when we stayed at a campground with cable we had to remember not to push that button. Hope this helps.

Penny
BT Cruiser 2590
hpytravlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:25 AM   #3
Roy Buzzard

you could go with satellite TV
Old 07-24-2006, 08:31 AM   #4
GStream40
Site Team

We have DirecTV in our home, so we just move the one receiver into the MH when we use it/travel.
We decided a couple of years ago that we liked DirecTV over the cable we had in our home so this was a sensible solution to have great TV reception in the coach plus at home at a cost effective matter.
The only thing is when we get outside of our local channel area, we don't have them. The solution is one can have the Network feeds , $6.00 @ month, or if you are going to be in an area like we do in the winter in Kissimmee, FL one can have DirecTV switch us to the local network feeds for that area.

After the initial dish install, it was the most reasonable solution for us.

Ron
GStream40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 11:32 AM   #5
RJ82much

Summer guests (from Florida) at our house (in Western MA) were told by DirectTV that they could be switched only once. Be sure to ask the question to assure you will be able to go back to your local channels when you return home.