Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 06-18-2008, 04:06 PM   #1
David Bott

Default Towing in General

Ok...Hi All...

Well, as we now have our new coach back we are looking to leave for the "Back to Home" rally.

Well, I want to flat tow and I am getting already for it. Here is the thing. I have a 2008 Tour Master, 42 Foot long, and I will be towing a 2008 Saturn Outlook. Hummm...I am new to RVing as some of you know. The 42' was not bad but I am nervous as I am adding like another 15 feet or so. Now for the question...

How but how do you know when you are safe to change lanes? I mean, they are so far back you can not use mirrors. I am thinking the rear camera, but when you turn on the directional the side camera comes on.

So, how do you all do it? Any tips? Add ons? Etc?

Gulp!

Thanks

David
MBE900 Diesel (Mercedes)
08' Saturn Outlook Toad
"To Boldly Go...Because We Can!"
https://www.OutsideOurBubble.com
David Bott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 11:53 AM   #2
hyall

yep use the rear monitor lets you see what clearance as you pass also lets you see if you are cutting the corners on a right turn make sure you swing out to clear for the toad I would practice in the neighborhood just to check it out before starting
hyall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 03:33 PM   #3
RJ82much

David,

Though I'm only driving a 37' unit & a relatively short, light Chevy Blazer SUV, I can understand your concerns. As Hyall said, your backup camera is your friend. With that, you can tell who is behind you & alongside your toad. You can also keep track of who approaches from the rear.