Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 02-23-2021, 04:32 PM   #1
veysiyildiz

Default Towing a vintage 19erd with 2004 BMW X5

I am totally new to towing and RV life. I have a 2004 X5, v6 3.0l, which according to specs has a towing capacity of 6000lbs, Horsepower 225 @ 5900 RPM, Torque 214 @ 3500 rpm. My mechanic told me that the hitch he can install on this car has specs of 7000lbs towing and 700lbs tongue weight.

19erd specs are as follows:
Dry Weight 3,090
Hitch Weight 370
Net Carrying Capacity 1,294

Although according to specs everything looks within limits I am worried about the tongue weight as it is hard to estimate what will be the tongue weight after loading the trailer.

This car has a value of ~$3k + cost of setting up the hitch with electricals. Is it a good idea to go down this way or consider an alternative pickup truck?
veysiyildiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 09:35 PM   #2
Chuck v

Your BMW has the power needed to tow your rig, but that is not the only thing to be concerned about. The wheelbase of the X5 is 111 inches, which is quite a bit under the lower limit for this 23 ft 2 inch model of trailer, according to this:

... As a general rule of thumb, the first 110 inches of wheelbase allow for a 20-foot trailer. For each additional four inches of wheelbase length, you get one foot more in trailer length.

You need a wheelbase of about 120 inches or more to meet this recommendation.

Also, breaking abilities should be considered. You will of course use an electric brake controller with any tow vehicle...but the larger a margin of all the parameters you have the less stress on the machinery and the less sweat for the driver.