Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum

Old 01-23-2016, 08:48 PM   #1
jtking

Default Intermittent Check engine light issue

I have a 2008 Tourmaster w/ISL 425 Cummins. Had first check engine light issue about 5 years ago. Light came on while at highway speed with no noticeable performance issue and all gauges looked normal. Called Local Freightliner Dealer when I arrived home. Told to bring in and they would check for codes. Water in fuel code was present, there was no water in fuel and new fuel filter and separator. Service Tech told me to drive it and it would not leave me stranded on the road (said there can be issues with sensor in separator. I drove it with light on for two years. Then as part of routine maintenance (spring 2012) replaced fuel filter and separator and the light went out! A couple of times after that over the next couple years light would intermittently cone on with no performance problem. I would crawl under coach and unplug and replug the connector to the fuel separator 3 or 4 times light would stay out for several months then same issue/procedure. Then in August of 2015 while returning home in Michigan check engine light came on at freeway speed with a jerk and loss of power. I cleared it with the dash toggle 2 or 3 times and it stayed out, power resumed. When I slowed to exit freeway about 45 miles later to go to house same issue, light on, jerk, power loss. Reset with dash toggle numerous times in the 3 miles to house. Did the plug and replug thing several times in the driveway. Started and put in garage. In mid October drove to Bridgeway Cummins in Grand Rapids (70 miles) for several routine maintenance items no light issues. While there had them check for codes, none present. Part of maintenance change fuel filter and separator.