Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2009, 12:39 PM   #1
univmd
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 61
Default 08 Tourmaster T40C: boondocked first time ever

I boondocked for the first time ever in Shenandoah National Park Loft Mountain Campground. Here are some observations:

Accessing Skyline Drive via Rt. 33 was relatively easy for a big rig, not too steep and not too curvy
Super large level campsites, what a surprise
Campground had sewer dump and potable water, no hookups
Campground limits generator use to 5 hours a day
Inverter was able to keep my fridge running overnight with no problems, which only used 1 or 2 bars out of 14 battery bars on remote Inverter display!

Alas, my Intellitec EMS still thinks I have "30amps" instead of a "generator" whenever I turn on my generator. The "30amp" lights up instead of "GenSet" and so the EMS limits me to 30amps. Thus I was unable to heat my water using electric, kept getting shed by the EMS. (However the EMS does allow me to run all 3 airconditioners, how is this possible?). I removed the EMS cover plate under the fridge, and found that the EMS is not receiving a 12V signal from the generator when the generator is on, although the wire is there and connected to the EMS. Where is the other end of this wire, supposedly it comes from the hour meter of the generator, where is that? Experiences, thoughts, advice?

With warm regards, James
__________________
08 Gulfstream Tourmaster T40C
univmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 02:24 PM   #2
GO BLUE
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CAPE CORAL
Posts: 93
Default

I have on occasion got to use all three a/c s when on gen and not calling for any other use I E invertor fridge microwave etc.....the breaker on my gen is 35 amps therefore I dont expect to get 50 amps unless i'm on shorepower........Jim K
__________________
07 TOURMASTER T40B M/B 330 ALLISON 6 SP...... TOAD TOYOTA 4RNR or SCION XB
...AND WRIGLEY THE COCKER SPANIEL
GO BLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 12:50 PM   #3
rdlamb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 386
Default

Strangely, the breaker on the generator is a X2, which means you have two separate lines, each with 35 amps.

Your A/C's are on one line, and as far as I can tell they are the only things on that line. The rest of the coach are on the other 35 amp breaker.

Since there is only one switch, if either of the lines exceeds 35 amps, the breaker "breaks" both incoming lines.

You will have to ask the engineer who designed the system why there are not 2 separate switches wherein one will trip, and the other continue supplying its 35 amps of energy.



__________________
Safe Travels
Rick
07 TM 40D;ISL 450 Cummins(upgraded). Very happy w/coach
Gnarly toad to scoot around.
Geocaching, hiking, fishing, National Parks, Civil War sites.
rdlamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long time rv'r avfordguy New Member Introductions 1 07-19-2017 04:48 PM
Going to Buy a Gulfstream Cavalier for First time Tsiri FEMA Trailers 2 08-08-2011 02:21 PM
First time buyer needs help!!!!! Oldiron Class C 3 12-29-2009 12:16 PM
5 members on at the same time justlizz Chit-Chat 2 10-28-2006 11:07 AM
2 on line at the same time justlizz Chit-Chat 3 08-16-2006 05:58 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×