Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2010, 08:19 AM   #1
CraigS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Default 'Hidden' Fuse Locations?

We have a (new to us) 2008 Gulf Stream Independence Ford F53 35' Class A. On a recent trip we arrived to find half the electrical outlets not working.

The breaker panel has one 20A breaker for all electrical outlets. Of course we verified that it is working properly.

We don't have an inverter. The outlets don't work on shore power or generator so I don't think we have a transfer switch issue.

Am I right to assume there are additional breakers or fuses hidden elsewhere in the coach? Can anyone suggest places to look?
__________________
Craig
--
2008 Gulf Stream Independence
2010 Ford Focus Toad
CraigS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 08:34 AM   #2
teebee60
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 12
Default Hidden Fuse locations

Check your electrical outlets for a "GFCI" breaker popped
__________________
2006 Tourmaster T36
Toad 2005 Jeep Liberty
FMCA 379518
Good Sam
teebee60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:08 AM   #3
CraigS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Of the non-working outlets, only the bathroom outlet is visibly a CGFI. This could be a good thing since we know it is common to gang other outlets with one CGFI (in order to save $5 per outlet -- grrrr )

Neither the reset or test buttons are working on the bathroom CGFI. I will pop it open this evening to see if the outlet is getting source-side VAC. Good place to start. Thanks.
__________________
Craig
--
2008 Gulf Stream Independence
2010 Ford Focus Toad
CraigS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 10:31 AM   #4
bschiano
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to bschiano
Default

I have a 37 foot 2004 Sunvoyager. On the bed platform there are a set of 10 breakers (110). Thats always where I check first.
bschiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 09:15 PM   #5
CraigS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Default

My problem is now fixed!

I pulled the breaker panel looking for dead wires on the output of each breaker. One wire was not working.

Woo Hoo!

The 15A side of a dual breaker was fried. I took a matching Cutler-Hammer breaker from my house panel and - no surprise - everything is now working fine.



I never intended to learn some much about my coach - but I guess that was inevitable Now that I think of it, I saw my wife's 2000W hair dryer in the bathroom. I should have put 2-and-2 together

Cheers,
Craig
__________________
Craig
--
2008 Gulf Stream Independence
2010 Ford Focus Toad
CraigS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fuse s79vette Electrical 1 10-25-2013 12:58 AM
Fuse box & manual Telly2222 Class C 0 06-12-2013 02:21 PM
VISA 19ERD TV mount locations chuck9997 Travel Trailers 9 04-14-2013 11:43 AM
DC outlets fuse rescue7 Electrical 0 06-11-2010 04:15 PM
fuse / breaker box sasmastr Travel Trailers 1 06-03-2009 05:06 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×